Amusement Park Accident Laws in Colorado
Amusement parks can be fun places for children and adults alike. Tragically, however:
- The rides and features at these parks are not always as safe as we would like to believe; and
- The people who operate these rides may not be qualified to do so.
When any type of negligence leads to amusement park accidents, injured people can turn to the experienced Denver personal injury attorneys at Bell & Pollock, P.C. for help pursuing justice and compensation. Since 1984, our lawyers have been tenacious champions for the people. This means that you can count on us for effective, aggressive legal advocacy when you need help standing up to injustice and securing the damages you deserve.
New Colorado Amusement Park Laws & Regulations
In 2014, the Colorado Department of Labor & Employment (DLE) updated its regulations1 regarding amusement park rides and devices in order to improve the safety standards for these venues and try to reduce the number of accidents and injuries that occur at them.
While these updates are quite in depth, some of the most important changes to these regulations for amusement parks include that:
- Every amusement park ride and ride operator must be registered with the State of Colorado – Additionally, before being able to operate a ride or work as an inspector, the proper permit(s) have to be obtained from the DLE.
- Operators or owners of amusement park rides are required to inspect rides every day – The results of these inspections must be documented in daily inspection logs for future reference.
- Each ride at an amusement park must be inspected by a third-party inspector on an annual basis – These inspections must take place while the ride is operable and before the park opens to the public.
- Ride inspections have to include inspections of the maintenance records for the ride, as well as training records for the ride operator.
- When rides fail these inspections, they must be shut down immediately – Additionally, these rides are only permitted to reopen to the public when the proper maintenance has been done and after a certificate of inspection for the ride has been issued.
- Injuries caused by amusement park rides and devices must be reported to the DLE within 24 hours of the ride operator becoming aware of the injury – Additionally, a written report regarding the injury must be submitted to the DLE within 72 hours of the operator becoming aware of the injury.
When Amusement Parks Fail to Comply with the Law
Should amusement park owners and/or ride operators fail to comply with the necessary regulations and laws, they can be fined as much as $1,000 per violation by the DLE. Additionally, they can be sued by injured parties, who may be entitled to compensation that includes damages for their:
- Medical bills
- Ongoing treatment needs
- Lost wages
- Impacted quality of life (if the injuries have resulted in irreversible impairments, for instance)
- Mental suffering.
Contact the Denver Personal Injury Attorneys at Bell & Pollock, P.C.
If you or a loved one has been hurt at an amusement park or any recreational venue, contact the Denver personal injury attorneys at Bell & Pollock, P.C. for help holding negligent park owners and/or ride operators accountable. Our lawyers will aggressively advocate your rights and work tirelessly to help you maximize your financial recovery.
To find out more about how we can help you, call us at (303) 795-5900 or email our firm using the contact form on this page. When you contact us, you will speak to a lawyer who will provide you with clear, honest legal advice about your case, your rights and your best options for moving forward.
From our offices conveniently located in Denver, Greenwood Village, and Steamboat Springs, our lawyers provide the highest quality legal services to injured people throughout the Denver metro area, Arapahoe County, Routt County and the state of Colorado.